Tags

Honestly, this work shows how differently an author and his readers can see this work. I presume that everyone would see Rosengarten as a strange written love story, especially after I categorised it as romance. But when I read it, I feel the depression, the horror, the greed as well as the lust within these lines. To explain this, I need to tell you about the origin of the story.

The story as you can read it here isn’t the first draft nor the second nor third. Furthermore it was never intended to end as a romance, but I get ahead of my self again. Shortly before the idea of Rosengarten, which was named Rosenspiel in earlier days, was born, I wrote a scene of a fantasy story. Actually this story was really mad: A man, searching for the meaning of his life, happened to come across a girl, who came accidentally to his world. But he lost sight of her, yet he couldn’t get her out of his head and soon get obsessed by her. Since she ended in an enemy group, he decided to use his position to chase her down. When he eventually found her, he killed everyone who was in his way of getting her, regardless if it were his own men or the enemy. One man he took down was a close friend of her, who was used to lure her out.

But what the hell is the connection between this story and Rosengarten? Well, I was sick of displaying the violence and the sickness of his mind in the common way, so I though about using symbols. That was when I got up with the idea of using roses instead of people.
If I had named the story Der Garten des Todes or Der Garten des Sensenmannes it would be much clearer that the roses symbolise the life of people. Figure a Grim Reaper walking through his garden, caring for his flowers and the moment when one bloom the person dies, ’cause death is what he waits for.

So Rosengarten was a weird and twisted play of myself to show the scene in a complete different perspective. Over the time it lost more and more of the fantasy elements and I began to play with the German language until the story got its figurative character.

You haven’t read Rosengarten? Read it now!

However, I hope you enjoyed reading it, no matter if it’s a love story or a battle field which destroys the hope of a girl.

Greetings Grace